Zainstaluj aplikację na iOS lub Androida, aby szybko wyszukiwać informacje kliniczne, otrzymywać powiadomienia i mieć dostęp przy łóżku pacjenta – obok wersji webowej.
Pharmacist to Oman: the OMSB exam, DataFlow, the MOH viva and the license, step by step
A step-by-step guide for pharmacists who studied outside Oman, written with Egyptian and Arab graduates in mind. Oman splits the work between two bodies: the Oman Medical Specialty Board (OMSB) runs the exam and the Ministry of Health (MOH) licenses you after an oral viva. This guide follows the MOH's own service cards.
Rules, dates and fees change. The exam format below comes from the official OEP booklet (August 2025 edition), linked from the OMSB exam page. Before you pay for or book anything, confirm each step on the OMSB exam page and the MOH Drug Safety Center services.
This guide is general information, not legal or immigration advice. MediHelp is not affiliated with OMSB, the Ministry of Health, DataFlow or Pearson VUE.
The path, step by step
According to the MOH's service cards, the order is: DataFlow verification and an exam certificate, then a request for the oral viva, then the viva in Oman, then the license request. Read the job-market warning in the section below before you start.
Check that you meet the MOH conditions
The MOH lists at least 3 years of experience with no work break longer than 1 year, registration with your home-country pharmacists' syndicate, a clean police record, and a graduation certificate and syndicate certificate attested by your country's Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Omani Embassy (MOH viva service). A consultancy says 2 years; the MOH's own 3 years is the figure to use. Article 16 of Ministerial Resolution 113/2020 (the executive regulation of the pharmacy law) sets the same conditions: at least 3 years of practical experience and no break from practice of more than 1 year when you apply.
Attest your documents
Have the degree and the syndicate certificate attested by the Egyptian Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Omani Embassy, as the MOH requires. Translation rules are not stated on the pages we read. A consultancy puts attestation at USD 100 to 300 depending on the country, and 2 to 4 weeks for preparing and attesting documents yourself; that is not official.
Start the DataFlow verification
DataFlow is OMSB's primary source verification partner. Start from DataFlow's OMSB page and upload the documents it asks for. The MOH wants a DataFlow certificate covering your attested degree and at least 3 years of experience. DataFlow's pharmacist fee and time for Oman are not confirmed officially; a consultancy gives 6 to 10 weeks and OMR 150 to 200.
Register for and sit the OMSB OEP exam on Pearson VUE
The OEP (Omani Examination for Pharmacists) is one of OMSB's Occupational Classification exams. Register through pearsonvue.com/omsb: create a Pearson account, choose a date and test centre, and pay online by Visa or Mastercard. You get a confirmation email within 48 hours. Bring one original government ID with your name, photo, date of birth and signature, matching your registration exactly (your passport if you test outside your country of citizenship). Your score report is emailed within 24 hours. The official OEP booklet (August 2025) sets 100 single-best-answer multiple-choice questions in 2 hours 30 minutes, a 60% pass mark and a USD 200 fee; candidates living in Oman sit it at OMSB, and those outside Oman at Pearson VUE centres.
Request the oral viva at the Ministry of Health
The request is made on the MOH E-Health portal (eportal.moh.gov.om/PIRE/), which uses Omani Mobile PKI or ID-card PKI login. In the MOH user manual's example the sponsoring establishment files it: the form asks for sponsor details, a preferred interview month (the MOH may move it) and whether you need a visa request letter. The request takes 7 to 14 working days and costs OMR 30 (the manual's payment screen shows 30.000 OMR). Attach your exam certificate, DataFlow certificate, attested degree and transcript, syndicate certificate, experience certificate, police record, passport copy and photo. The service card asks for a recent exam certificate valid for one year (one line still says Prometric, another Pearson VUE).
Pass the oral viva in Oman
The license service card says you must pass the oral test (viva) at the Directorate. The MOH user manual only covers the online request, and we found no official description of the viva format or pass criteria, so ask the MOH what to expect. You must pass it before the license request can be accepted.
Request your license
Open the MOH license service (eportal.moh.gov.om/PLRE/). Attach your ID or resident card, a visa for non-Omanis, insurance against professional errors covering 2 years, and a recent photo (PDF and JPG). Pay the fee (100 for a non-Omani pharmacist, 20 for an Omani; currency not stated on this card, while the renewal card gives the same amounts in riyals). A MOH employee reviews, approves and issues the license, in 14 working days according to the card. Because this request needs a visa or resident card, and the viva request already asks for sponsor details, in practice you need an Omani employer or sponsor before the viva request.
Renew and keep your insurance current
Renewal is available two years after issue. It needs your ID or resident card, passport, photo and 2-year professional-errors insurance, and costs 100 riyals for non-Omanis. We found no CPD requirement on the MOH page.
Read this first: the job market for foreign pharmacists
News reports from July 2025 describe Ministry of Health Circular 167/2025 on Omanisation: pharmacies in commercial complexes and hospital facilities are to be Omanised, and the licenses (Oman Observer) or contracts (Gulf News) of non-Omani pharmacists and assistants there will not be renewed (Oman Observer, Gulf News).
We could not confirm how this affects new foreign licenses or which jobs remain open. Confirm that you have a real job route before you spend on attestation, DataFlow and the exam.
Who this guide is for
Pharmacists with a degree from outside Oman, including Egyptian graduates. Assistant pharmacists sit a separate exam and are not covered here.
We found no official exemption from the exam for pharmacists.
Documents checklist
Graduation certificate attested by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Omani Embassy, plus your transcript.
Pharmacists' syndicate registration certificate, attested the same way.
Experience certificate showing at least 3 years with no break over 1 year.
Police record with no convictions.
Exam certificate (Pearson VUE) and DataFlow certificate.
Passport copy and photo; for the license, an ID or resident card, a visa and 2-year malpractice insurance.
Attachments for the portal are PDF files and a JPG photo.
DataFlow primary source verification
DataFlow has worked with OMSB since 2012 according to its page, and it only verifies: it does not decide licensing.
Express service targets 14 working days at extra cost, according to DataFlow's own blog posts.
OMSB's DataFlow FAQ is an old document (it still mentions Prometric), so treat its process details as dated.
Check the DataFlow portal for the current price before you pay.
The OEP exam
Official: the exam is an OMSB exam. Under the OEP booklet (August 2025), candidates living in Oman sit it at OMSB in Muscat and those outside Oman at Pearson VUE centres worldwide. The format below is from that booklet unless marked.
The booklet's blueprint has 10 domains; the largest are patient-centred care and pharmacotherapeutics (30%) and pharmaceutical calculations (15%). It also gives a suggested reference list and pharmacokinetics equations. Download it from the OMSB exam page and read it before you study.
Costs
Fees seen on 30 October 2026. The MOH license card shows no currency; the renewal card says riyals and the MOH viva user manual shows the viva fee as 30.000 OMR.
Oman pharmacist pathway: fees
Item
Amount
Source and status
Oral viva request (MOH)
OMR 30
MOH service card and user manual, official
License (MOH)
100 non-Omani, 20 Omani, currency not stated (presumably OMR)
6 to 10 weeks standard (consultancy); express about 14 working days
Not confirmed
Whole path
3 to 6 months estimated by consultancies
Secondary, not confirmed
After you are licensed
Renewal is available two years after issue and needs your 2-year professional-errors insurance again.
The license request needs your visa or resident card, so keep your residence valid.
CPD is not mentioned on the MOH pages we read. Ask the Drug Safety Center.
Check Circular 167/2025 before you accept a job in a commercial-complex or hospital pharmacy.
Common pitfalls
Starting the exam before checking that you meet the 3-year experience rule.
An exam certificate more than a year old when you request the viva.
Attesting documents with the wrong body: both the foreign ministry and the Omani Embassy are required.
Planning a move without a job route, given Circular 167/2025.
Relying on old blogs that give a 150-question, 3-hour exam or a different blueprint.
Using recalled questions.
Your follow-up checklist
Tick these off as you go. Signed-in Egyptian accounts can track the same list in the MediHelp app and on the website.
Job route in Oman confirmed.
3 years of experience with no break over 1 year documented.
Degree and syndicate certificate attested by the foreign ministry and the Omani Embassy.
DataFlow case paid; report received.
OEP booklet downloaded and read; exam booked on Pearson VUE.
Exam passed; certificate saved (valid one year).
Viva requested on the MOH portal (PIRE) and passed.
Visa and 2-year insurance ready; license requested (PLRE).
License issued; renewal date noted.
What we could not confirm
Any waiting period between OEP attempts.
The viva's format and pass criteria, and which sponsor types the viva request accepts.
The currency on the MOH license card and the DataFlow fee for pharmacists.
Whether Pearson VUE has centres in Egypt.
How Circular 167/2025 affects new licences, and any CPD requirement.
Frequently asked questions
Who runs the exam and who gives the license?
OMSB runs the OEP exam on Pearson VUE. The Ministry of Health, through its Drug Safety Center, runs the viva and issues the license.
How many experience years do I need?
The MOH service card says at least 3 years with no break over 1 year, and Ministerial Resolution 113/2020 says the same (Article 16, Arabic text read 30 October 2026). A consultancy says 2, so use the MOH figure.
Can I retake the exam if I fail?
Pearson VUE's page says there is no maximum number of attempts and retakes follow OMSB policy. A consultancy says each attempt is paid again.
Why do I need a job before the license?
The license request asks for a visa or resident card for non-Omanis, and the MOH viva request form already asks for sponsor details, so in practice you need an employer.
Does MediHelp have an Oman question bank?
Not yet. MediHelp's Oman bank will have original practice questions written from the OMSB reference list, not real exam questions.
Using MediHelp while you prepare
MediHelp's drug search turns the brand on the box into the generic name, strength and equivalents, which helps when you move to a market with different brands.
General information for pharmacists planning a move, not legal, immigration or career advice. MediHelp is not affiliated with OMSB, the Ministry of Health, DataFlow or Pearson VUE. Check every step with the official body before you pay.